Dean's Innovation Grant 2016: Revving Up for Research

This is an archived news item. Links may no longer be active.

The University of North Texas Libraries’ Dean’s Innovation Grant, formerly known as the Green Light To Greatness Award, provides funding to research and projects within the UNT Libraries that promote scholarship and contribute to the gathering of knowledge that helps improve our libraries, our university, and the community.

Dean’s Innovation Grant 2016 Awardees

​Karen Harker, Catherine Sassen, Erin O’Toole, Beth Thomsett-Scott, Jesse Hamner

Project Title

Revving Up for Research: DIG Demonstration Proposal 2016

Project Description

Revving Up for Research’s goal is to support Assistant Librarians from their initial appointment through their third year and help them build research skills and grow professionally. This is accomplished through group mentoring, where one mentor oversees several protégés and guides them in their professional development.

Contributor Biographies

Karen Harker is the Collection Assessment Librarian. She holds a Master of Public Health from University of Texas School of Public Health and a Master of Library Science from TWU.

Catherine Sassen, Ph.D. is the Principal Cataloger in Cataloging and Metadata Services. She received both her Ph.D. and Master of Library Science from UNT

Erin O’Toole is the Science Reference Librarian in Library Research Support Services. She holds a Master of Library Science from TWU and a Master of Public Health from University of Utah Medical School.

Beth Thomsett-Scott is the Science and Engineering Librarian at UNT Libraries’ Discovery Park. She has a Master of Library and Information science from the University of Western Ontario and a Master of Science from the University of Manitoba.

Jesse Hamner, Ph.D. is the Director of Research and Assessment for the University Libraries Dean’s Office. He has a Ph.D. in Political Science and a Master of Arts from Emory University, as well as a Master of Science in Geology from the University of Alabama.